· 

Dialogue and Text placement

Been a while but I did learn something bigger about the trade of comic making with the new page and it's connected to dialogues! I've been having trouble with the whole speech bubble placement. Where to put them in a panel? And how much text should there be? What should the speech bubble look like? Normal round or with spikes? So this time I included them super roughly in my very first concept sketch of the entire page. Once the lineart was done, I went a step further and planned the placement and size of each speech bubble by using grey color so I can get a good overview. I also finalised the texts and added them to the page so I can tweak everything until each panel had a well balanced amount of textual and visual input. So the only thing I really changed was to consider the texts and speech bubbles right from the start. Makes sense to do so, right? But somehow I only just really learned that haha!

 

Oh and here's an exclusive look on Hay Lin in the new page. She's part of the last panel so I'm almost done with the lineart and will move on to coloring soon. Yay!

A small update in general: I injured my shoulder last Saturday and wasn't able to properly move it for a while. Luckily one of the few positions that didn't hurt was the one I also use to draw. Phew! Only thing I had to be careful with were too big swings with my right but I can handle that. By now the shoulder is almost healed up again and since I finished another commission yesterday I can go full speed on the comic page again.

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0