· 

Learnings from page 15

Heeey! The page is finally finished!!! WOHOOOO!!!! This one took me a while. Wanna know why? Well, as I keep saying, this comic project is mostly so I learn how to actually do comics and I've been having bigger problems with colouring, presentation of text for sound effects and partially also how to position panels to support the stuff that's happening across the page. So I've been doing a lot of reading and checking out some great coloration tutorials from amazing comic artists out there to level up my skills and used this page nr. 15 as a guinee pig to test them out!

I think there's still a lot for me to learn but I do feel like I really did make some progress as an artist. So cheers to that!

 

The picture up above shows you a bit of these things that I tried out with this page. The colour transition across the entire page to symbolize the different dynamics of what's happening and how to direct the viewer. At first I didn't have any spacing between the two bigger panels on the left. Because of that though, as a reader I would go from top left to bottom left, completely ignoring what was happening on the right. So I added this slightly green-coloured space between them. This way the viewer is more inclined to read top left, top right and then bottom left and right AND the bit of green helps with the colour transition and pushes the reader a bit more to go from the panel with 4 girls falling around to the "Cornelia uses her power" panel.

The two panels that gave me the biggest headache was the one with Irma (see explanation above in the picture) and the one with the 4 girls falling around. With the latter, I wanted Cornelia to be the main focus with Will second and the other two being mostly in the background. It was pretty difficult for me to get that done plus making them fall around with wings and all without the panel becoming too noisy and filled with stuff! I think it worked out in the end but it's not super perfect.

My two favorite panels are the panel in the top right with the picture of the nymphs being torn by that mysterious red krack! And the bottom left one with Cornelia using her powers.

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Rhynn (Monday, 28 February 2022 16:52)

    I adore it <3 can't wait for the next one!