· 

Teatime update

I figured it's high time for another update. We're currently busy using the weekends to prepare everything in our new apartment. The kitchen needed a lot of work but we're almost finished. Job-wise I'm soon starting at a new company, meaning I'm almost done with offboarding in my current job and will start with the new company in July. Inbetween I'm slowly starting to plan our wedding next year and with all of that going on I couldn't bring myself to work on the comic to the extend I had wished to. Producing a page costs a lot of energy because I'm practically doing the job of four people at once (penciller, inker, colorist, letterer) while still not being at a professional level so the learning aspect takes up an extra effort. This is not me excusing any delays but explaining why things are moving slow. Another aspect is that I wanted to take the time to plan the next couple of pages as a whole so they work well together. The transformation sequence is coming up for the girls and I want it to be really cool. But I'm not a machine. I can't produce the stuff I do at the same quality level simply by forcing myself to get it done. Sometimes I need to take a break, generate some new ideas or just do something completely else and then some good ideas come to me or I have the energy to continue and push through afterwards.

 

So what have I been doing all this time? Apart from my private things, I've been experimenting with a new art style to drawing landscapes. I've also been working on a redbubble shop where you can buy stuff with my designs that I'll officially link and promote sometime soon, I've made a drawing of Elyon simply to get something small done, and one of Hay Lin as spiderwoman. The latter two you can find on deviantart and instagram. Finally, I'm writing the third and last part of the Halloween story in order to be able to present you guys with both the digital complete book as well as a small batch of printed ones this fall.

 

At this time I cannot make any proper prediction as to when I'll be done with the next page. I want to get back to the comic soon and I have some time off inbetween work places but might need the time to relax... I can't say for certain.

On that note: I really appreciate every support you guys give me and I love that you're still stopping by here from time to time. I know it must be annoying that I'm so irregular with posting comic pages but please understand that my goal is to produce something I personally can be happy and satisfied with, that helps me grow as an artist and not to simply throw out page after page after page. I will remove any comments along the lines of "when is the next page coming" from the home page here. Firstly because that is not the type of comments I'd like to see there and secondly because they pressure me and I don't like that. Please respect my artistic process. I know it's slow and irregular and unpredictable but that's just how I work. I hope you guys can understand.