· 

W.i.t.c.h. reboot!! And other news

I just heard today that there's going to be an official W.i.t.c.h. reboot! The graphic novel will be more in Manga style as we can already see in this cover preview, and will be set in modern times to attract the current young readers. The story is leaning on the official comic series but will incorporate new things as well as far as I understand it. The comic is launching in Italy this Ocotber. It's not clear yet if or when it will be translated into other languages.

I've been saying this on most other channels already but will say it here again: I'm a little back and forth on this. On the one hand I'm really excited! New W.i.t.c.h. stuff!!! And a new generation will hopefully get to fall in love with it like I did back in the day!
On the other hand I'm wondering if I will like this new adaption... and also... I'm a little embarrassed to admit it, but these past years, working on the comic sequel and trying my best to dive in deep into the official Disney world, respecting it and sticking with their choices... at some point it almost felt like I was a true professional who was (super slow!!! but still) working on the actual Disney comic stuff, keeping the franchise alive. And so when this announcement was brought to my attention today, two things happened:

  1. I started questioning if going on with the Sovereign comic makes sense if there is actual and official new W.i.t.c.h. content since I began this journey mostly to have more Witch stuff to read and look at myself and of course to learn comic as a medium.
  2. I felt sad for not being on the reboot team. I'm no professional, my community is small (just the way I like it!) so naturally nobody would even consider of asking me. And I'm not sure I'd be up for the task even if they did. But some dreamer part of myself would've really LOVED to be part of this reboot.

which leads me to the one thing I can do to help W.i.t.c.h. out: Which is to promote this new comic adaption. And here we are. That's the role I play. *sigh* I will go cry in a corner now...

On another note, I'm working on some things that I will announce soon. I meant to do it today but after this announcement I don't feel like it anymore so I will get back to you on this another day.

Write a comment

Comments: 7
  • #1

    Elyon (Wednesday, 26 July 2023 15:52)

    I would love it if you continued your Sovereigns comic!

  • #2

    Liz (Friday, 28 July 2023 05:52)

    Please keep writing the Sovereigns comic. The reboot series can co-exist with your work.

  • #3

    Puk (Friday, 28 July 2023 08:26)

    Your Sovereigns comic is so amazing and I love how deep you are with the w.i.t.c.h lore.

  • #4

    Jon (Wednesday, 02 August 2023 20:40)

    It's a reboot, not a continuation so in a way, it's like an alternate timeline. The same would apply to Sovereigns. Bottom line, don't let the reboot get you down, think of it as inspiration to push onwards

  • #5

    Alexandra (Wednesday, 23 August 2023 17:31)

    If this reboot follows in the vein of most recent reboots it won't add much to the original series, which we all know and love - so, in my opinion, Sovereigns will still be the only one true to the W.I.T.C.H. roots.

    Moreover, your work on the series is super, super good and it would be quite sad to let this manga-esque 'New Beginning' eclipse it even one little bit.
    I would personally love it if you continued the comics but I (actually I think all of us) can understand if you decide otherwise even though we're probably not big fans of the idea.

  • #6

    Chavi (Wednesday, 13 December 2023 05:26)

    I'm trying to write my own version of a WITCH reboot that respects the comics and fixes plotholes, and I'd love a fellow fan's input. You can PM me on fanfiction.net. My user name is w.i.t.c.h.aholic.

  • #7

    Tanya (Tuesday, 05 March 2024 03:15)

    I found out about the restart and read... to be honest, it was bad... they say that this is a reimagining of an old comic and should be taken as a new, separate work, but even so I did not appreciate it. It's a pretty cheesy story, poorly designed to attract new fans and too re-imagined and far from canon to keep old fans interested. And in general, if the comic does not include the beloved Phobos, then I see no point in reading it. I still don’t understand, is this all or will there be a continuation? I apologize if I offended anyone, I just want to share my impressions with someone.