· 

Recap 2021 & Outlook 2022

One of the sketches I've been working on for the trailer this year
One of the sketches I've been working on for the trailer this year

Wow this year went by really fast!  Time to look back on 2021 and tell you a bit about what's in store for the Sovereign Project 2022! Let's get started!

 

RECAP 2021

This year was full of ups ans downs. I finished 2 big commissions which ended up costing me several months extra. My rabbit died in summer, and I left the drawing board for the first time in many years for 2 whole months;  I got engaged, started working on our new appartment we're going to move into sometime next year, started a new job with a really, really cool team! I also scratched the surface of animation which has been on my bucket list since forever and I spent a lot of time thinking about my Sovereigns project and its future.

 

ACCOMPLISHMENTS FOR THE SOVEREIGN PROJECT 2021

  1. I finished 3 comic pages (not my best quote but better than nothing)
  2. The new main villain for the story arc was revealed
  3. I wrote the scripts of the next comic issues of this story arc
  4. My new characters finally got a full character sheet
  5. I started working on a video trailer for the project, consisting of a series of pretty awesome artwork (I want to reveal them together, so they're secret for now)
  6. I sketched several compositions for a new Arc cover
  7. Part 2 of the Halloween Special was finished and published digitally! Whee!
  8. We had a fun community event creating a new heroine together along with her pet and brother which will all be a part of the upcoming new mission of the girls

DROPOUTS 2021

  1. Meridian world book - Decided to postpone this project for the time being and use the gathered data for a new Sovereign novel I've been thinking about writing next
  2. I didn't get nearly as many comic pages done as I had hoped
  3. Originally I had planned to finish the trailer by now. Instead I had to pause its production for the sake of the comic

 

OUTLOOK 2022

Sovereign Comic News

New transformation! Yes, it's about time! I'm going to show you the girls' new Sovereign outfits. Only 2 more pages until the girls will transform in the comic and simultaniously I'm working on a few art works that will show W.i.t.c.h. as Sovereigns as well. All of these will drop over the course of 2022. Realistic estimate is summer 2022
I'm thinking a lot about when to produce a printed version and if I want to keep working with a pure comic for the entire story arc or turn it into a mixed medium at some point, combining a few comic pages to visualise key moments of the story, while telling the rest in written form. Since the comic production takes a very long time it will take me many years until I finish telling the whole story that I want to tell. But let's talk about this some more towards the end of 2022. Until then I'll keep drawing classic comic pages.

 

Sovereign Trailer

Yep, that's still a plan. I'm working on it whenever I got some extra time or can take a day of vacation. The main focus will be on the comic itself for 2022, working on the artworks and trailer only on the side as much as I'm able.

Sovereign Novels

Finishing the Halloween special with part 3 and having it printed as paperback is high on my List. Once that is done I have another Sovereign novel planned that will run alongside the comic, similar to the Halloween special. This next novel will be set in Meridian after the events of the original comic series and explore more of the world itself, how things are changing after Elyon became Queen, the lingering effects of Phobos' rule as well as touch on the question what happened to the Escanor bloodline. Main characters will be Elyon and Marzenna. My estimate for this is, that I'll be able to start writing the story in 2022, but publishing will be sometime in 2023 or even 2024.

Opinions, questions or suggestions?

Also a big thank you for your patience and understanding and all of you who kept encouraging me via comments on this website or messages on instagram and Mail. I appreciate it very much! It means the world to me, knowing that there are people out there who love the project as much as I do and are eager to see more of it. I may have been quieter this year but I can assure you that my love for this project is still strong and that I've been working on a lot of things in secret all this time that I hope will carry fruit over the next two years.

 

Have a lovely winter time, Christmas, and start into 2022!

I'll read you guys next year!

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0